Home > Blogs > Change in Blog Name

Change in Blog Name

Alright, Nick is making fun of me (Ten ways to make your blog more popular #7) for the fact that I didn’t pick someone’s name for my blog.  Apparently I was just crying wolf when I offered to give a book away.  So even though I don’t have to, out of the kindness and goodness of my ever-enlarging heart, I chose one of the blog names that he suggested.  So he has earned himself a copy of A Popular Survey of the Old Testamentby Norman Geisler.

 Perhaps I’ll change my blog title again soon, especially since my web address has no relation to the blog name.  Plus I’m keeping the old banner for now just ’cause I’m lazy.  That makes it easy for me to just pop in a new name from time to time.

Nick also thinks I should post more frequently (#4), but then I would be violating principle #9 by not being myself.  😛  As for #2, ‘Buddy up to Jim West and Chris Tilling,’ I guess haven’t done very well buddying up with Chris Tilling or Jim West.  I guess I do challenge Jim on his blog from time to time, but I never expect much to come of that.  All in all, the whole Jim West warning label idea was a dud.  Those who got the joke didn’t follow, and plenty of people didn’t get that it was a joke.

I’m a little disillusioned with blogging right now.  My purpose for blogging is to make some friends that I can talk theology with.  Otherwise I just go nuts, and meanwhile I drive everyone around me nuts because they don’t much care about theology.  I’m not particularly interested in increasing my blog’s popularity, but I read these kinds of lists and think to myself, “I can do that.”  Pretty soon I am devoting my energy to becoming popular but blogging becomes burdensome.  I find myself asking what’s the point.  Then I just burn out and say screw it.  It’s pretty similar to the reason that I hate Church Growth books — they totally burn me out on church by getting me to shift my focus from church being about God to church being about drawing in people.  I don’t really want to devote my life to drawing in people.

I imagine I’m not alone in this.  Do others feel like they can become a slave to their blogs?  I am interesting in finding out what keeps you going in your blogging, and also what burns you out.

Categories: Blogs
  1. January 15, 2008 at 10:23 am

    I started blogging (almost 2 and a half years ago) for basically the same reason you did, because I didn’t really have anyone to talk theology with. I also was getting into a lot of debates on other blogs and I wanted to give others a bit of insight into me and what I was into and all about. I found I liked knowing a bit more about the people I was debating and discussing issues with because it helped give me a little bit of context to their views.

    I don’t blog for popularity, I just enjoy a good discussion and hearing other perspectives. Unfortunately sometimes it’s hard to get that unless you are more read. Out of the things on the list I think the most important are frequent posting (my favorite blogs post a lot) and commenting and interacting on other blogs (because you’re interested in what they’re saying not because you want more readers), although sometimes I wonder if people get sick of seeing “Bryan L” pop up : )

    Some of the other reasons I blog are:
    1.) it helps me to get ideas out of my head and on paper (virtual paper) to help me think through them more and actually formulate what I beleive.
    2.) It’s nice to look back and see where I was in the past and what I was interested in or what was going on in my life.
    3.) It gives me a wider perspective on the church and the various traditions and personalities instead of my localized view.
    4.) Just because I enjoy reading blogs and enjoy being part of that.

    The only thing I really get dissolutioned about with blogging is getting into debates that don’t go anywhere and that take up too much time and thoughts. I also hate how long it takes me to write a post from beginning to end and it ends up looking like I just threw it together really quick.

    Keep at it. I enjoy your conservative perspective (to me) that throws me unexpected curve balls now and then.

    Blessings,
    Bryan L

  2. January 15, 2008 at 10:44 am

    What I enjoy about blogging is that I get to get my ideas out there and have like-minded (or not so like-minded) folks read them. Most of the stuff I enjoy, my friends don’t. I don’t really get to go back and forth with them about Biblical studies, theology, and rap music — but with my blogging buddies I do.

    As far as having a popular blog goes, I only wish to gain readership for the interaction. I don’t blog for me and me alone. I’ve said before that blogging as far as I’m concerned is a communal activity, so I really enjoy and desire that aspect of it. But I could care less about Technorati ratings and things of that sort.

  3. January 15, 2008 at 11:25 am

    having had a break from school have me an opportunity to spend a lot more time writing. now that it’s the first day of classes, i can already feel that pressure start to bear down, and i am a bit disappointed that i won’t be able to post as much as i’d like. what blogging has shown me, though, is that writing is like anything else: the more you practice, the better it gets. in that respect, i hope to continue writing fairly regularly. i might just have to be posting excerpts from papers, instead of things to bother Jim West!

  4. Jess
    January 15, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    I think I like “Communal Feast” better than Ask Yourself Questions. I like blogging because I’m at home with two young children everyday that can’t interact with me on quite the intellectual level that I’d like. (They’re 10 months and 2 1/2.) I think I agree with others that it’s a way to find other people interested in what I’m interested in without having to find common times to come together and meet. I enjoy talking about culture/art/music/literature from a Christian perspective and reading from others who have the same interests…without having to subscribe to Relevant magazine (though I get email newsletters from them). Plus, I kinda felt like God told me to write more creatively, so I’m trying it.

  5. Jess
    January 15, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    PS, what’s the actual link to those 10 ways to make your blog more popular?

  6. January 15, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    I blog in order to share my ideas and learn from others.

    It’s also an evangelistic tool for me. I travel alot in my work. I have found that people sitting next to me on an airplane or in a terminal or other places will not take a tract or a testimony or a talk. But they will take a card with my name and blog address on it, and they often do come to visit.

    It’s all about Christ and what he has done for me.

  7. January 16, 2008 at 8:57 am

    Bryan, feel free to let your name keep popping up here. That is, as long as I keep posting.

    Nick, thanks for the comments and your help getting WordPress to do what I want it to.

    Tim, I think you’re right about improving in writing. I’ve heard Tom Wright say that he can basically crank out papers in about as much time as it would take to read them aloud. I can crank out papers in about as much time as it would take to read them aloud 100 times. So blogging ought to be good for me.

    Jess, (Jess? Since when have you gone by Jess?) oops, I accidentally linked to the wrong page in my post. It should have linked directly to Nick, and now it does. Sorry about the mix-up.

    J.K., good idea about business cards with your blog. I would go for more of an evangelistic thrust, but right now I’m using my blog as a means to sort out what I believe. Thanks for your input and encouragement.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

