Home > Academics > Free theology mp3 classes

Free theology mp3 classes

Have you heard about Biblicaltraining.org yet?  They have all kinds of free seminary-level courses in mp3 format.  Like anything, some of the courses are better than others.  All of them are taught by professors drawn from the conservative side of evangelicalism, so there are plenty of things here that bother me.  But hey, did I mention they’re free?

Recently I have been listening to the church history course taught by Gerald Bray, who is really on the ball.  Plus his accent makes him sound really smart.  He could probably read through the phone book and I’d be in awe.  I was not terribly impressed with Bruce Ware’s theology courses, but that’s probably I dislike his uncompromising stand against Open Theism.  I probably disagree even more with Ron Nash than I do with Ware, but Nash’s course on the history of philosophy and christian thought is really great.  There are a lot of other courses that I haven’t listened to by Craig Blomberg, Frank Thielman, Bryan Chapell, Doug Stuart, and John Piper.

And Bill Mounce teaches Koine Greek, which looks interesting.  That class would be a good thing to give to someone who wants to dig deeper into the scriptures but doesn’t have the money or the schedule to allow going to seminary.

Really, do check it out.  Many of these courses would be worth it even if you had to pay full price for them.  But they’re free so you can’t lose.

 

Related Posts: Mp3 Sermon Series on the Book of Revelation

Categories: Academics
  1. January 20, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    I was going through Bray’s course but after I a while I got disinterested in it. It was too theologically oriented (not a bad thing for some people) and more prescriptive than descriptive in my opinion. I’ve also gone through Garth Rosell’s (sp?) church history course from the Okenga Institute at Gordin Conwell, which are also free and were really good.

    I wouldn’t even listen to that Ware course knowing how he is with Open Theism (being one of the main critics against it.) It seems like he’s gotten his name from being an outspoken uncompromising critic against controversial topics (Open Theism, Egalitariansim).

    BTW the Okenga Institute has a course by David Wells (I know he’s pretty popular in some circles) called Theology Matters. They actually have a few cool courses. Douglas Stuart does a few including the How to Read the Bible For All Its Worth.

    Give it a look if you get a chance.

    Blessings,
    Bryan L

  2. January 20, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    I didn’t know about the Okenga classes. Do you have a link?

  3. January 21, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    I have studied under Dr. Rosell, and he is amazing. That man is a brilliant scholar with a profound heart for God. I can’t stress enough the intellect, passion, and integrity I saw from him. He is one of those instructors you walk away from going, “Wow! I can’t believe I studied under him.” Just thinking about it makes me miss school.

  4. January 22, 2008 at 7:33 am

    Thanks, Ryan, this looks awesome.

  5. Steph
    January 27, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    biblicaltraining.org is actually the site that I have been listening to in order to beef up my church history knowledge. It is a great site..plethera of information on a variety of subjects. Some of the teachers are a little dry, but once you get past the monotonous voices, the lectures are really worth the time. It’s amazing how much you can learn during a 2 hour commute each day!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

