Home > Uncategorized > A Challenge for Lent

A Challenge for Lent

Scot McKnight has issued the following challenge for this lent:

I am asking my blog’s readers to consider a challenge for Lent. No, it is not giving up anything. Instead, it helps move Lent into 40 days of living out the gospel: I am asking you to begin and end each day of Lent (beginning Wednesday) by reciting the Jesus Creed. And, whenever it comes to mind throughout the day, I am asking you to recite it again. In your evening recitation of the Jesus Creed, we are asking you to give some moments of recollection to confess any sins against the Jesus Creed throughout the day.

Here it is:

Hear O Israel, the Lord our God, the Lord is One.
Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, and with all your strength.
The second is this: Love your neighbor as yourself.
There is no commandment greater than these.

Sounds a little religious, but I’m willing to give it a go.  Anyone else?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. February 4, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    Thanks! I’ll join in. I am not from a liturgical/seasons background, so this kind of challenge is a great help to join in on the seasonal approach to Christianity.

  2. February 5, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    I would but I tried that before when Scot first released the Jesus Creed and lasted about 2 days. it’s the reason I don’t practice “The Divine Hours”. Good luck.

  3. February 6, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    Yvette, I grew up in a liturgical background which seemed entirely devoid of meaning. But it seems easy enough. Thanks for joining in.

    Bryan, yeah, we’ll see how it goes. I didn’t remember this morning until about an hour after I got up. But I did it then. No worries, you know. If I miss, oh well. It’s like when I quit smoking fifteen years ago – I didn’t give up just because I messed up a couple of times. On the whole I’m skeptical but not skeptical enough to keep me from trying it. After all, it certainly can’t hurt.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

