Home > Blogs > ;)?

;)?

Apparently there are at least three emoticons that, if you use any of them, you have to use all of them.  The most common is the smile face 🙂 which makes sense to me, since there are lots of times I would smile if you saw me in real life.  The next is sticking your tongue out 😛 which I do much less often in real life, but I’m certainly not above it.  It makes sense by way of hyperbole.  But would someone please explain what the winking face 😉 is supposed to mean?  I have asked on different occasions, but usually it is buried in the comments of some post and either I forget to check back or no one comes back to my comments to answer.  On multiple occasions now I have been corrected for using a smile when I should have used a wink.

Here’s the problem: the wink sort of creeps me out.  Not only do I not really know what it means, but I can’t help but think of it as being flirtatious.  Needless to say, the times when I have been told to use a wink, I was most definitely NOT flirting.  So I’m at a loss.  You emoticon-savvy people out there are going to have to teach me in the ways of emoticon etiquette.  🙂  😛

Categories: Blogs
  1. February 7, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    There’s no single use for the wink emoticon. Like every other form of expression the context and usage determines its definition.

    I suppose that the wink could be flirtatious (which would be weird and kinda gay since most bloggers are guys), but it’s usually used to signify jesting, mocking or sarcasm of some sort. At least that how I use it and how I’ve always perceived its use.

    It can also be used to placate somebody, like for instance if someone says something really stupid and you don’t feel like arguing with them, you’d just yes them to death and give a wink.

    And it can also be used as a way to basically say “get it?” — You know, like if you said something to someone in real life that was awesomely profound or just really asinine, you would point your finger gun at them and then give them a wink and the click, click sound.

    Anyway, these are a few of the definitions for the 😉 — hope that helps! 🙂

  2. February 7, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    Who flirts by winking any more?!! I hope you have have better game than that Ryan.

    ; )

    Bryan

  3. February 8, 2008 at 8:00 am

    I think I use the wink in very specific situations. The time I use it the most is if I’m writing something that could be taken as an insult but I want the person to know I’m only joking (like saying, “Get it?”). I’ve used the standard 🙂 in some of those cases, but then I always felt like they’d think I was insulting them and enjoying it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

