Home > The World > Eight Foreign Cities I’d Like to Move To

Eight Foreign Cities I’d Like to Move To

I love to kick around the idea of selling everything and moving to a foreign country.  It used to freak out my wife because she would just start meditating on all the details that we would have to take care of.  I had to tell her that I’m probably not really that serious but it just gets me excited to think about it.  Now she just humors me, which is fine.  It still makes me feel good and we both know that she’s the practical one, while I tend to have my head in the clouds.

So I thought I’d list out my top foreign cities I’d like to live in.  I could add in U.S. cities, but I’ll save that for a different time.  These are the places I would love to live:

  1. Haifa, Israel – A gorgeous little city that would put me close to the Galilee, close to Jerusalem, help me sharpen my Hebrew, and experience Mediterranean culture.
  2. Durham, England – I admit that I know almost nothing about the topography of England.  Really anywhere in England would be a blast.  But if there were a chance to meet Bishop Tom how cool would that be.
  3. New Delhi, India – I would love to live in an exotic location and India fits the bill.
  4. Tübingen, Germany – I could drink beer with Chris Tilling.
  5. San José, Costa Rica – My home church has a sister church near there.  It is a great city and it would be an amazing place to live.
  6. Pátmos, Greece – Any little island in the Aegean Sea would do, but Pátmos has the added advantage that I might receive an apocalyptic vision and get to write a book in the Bible.
  7. Capetown, South Africa – Just cause it’s Africa.
  8. Konza, Kenya – I have happy thoughts when I think about Kenya.  Konza is a little city just outside Nairobi.
Categories: The World
  1. February 12, 2008 at 12:18 am

    DO come to Tübingen! But I don’t recommend the beer …

  2. February 12, 2008 at 11:05 am

    What’s wrong with the beer? Seems to me like it should be better there.

  3. February 12, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    OK, I admit, it is my own personal problem with beer generally! But I’d love to drink a wine, coffee or tea with you!

  4. February 12, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    I didn’t think you were allowed to study the Bible in Germany without drinking beer.

  5. February 12, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    Do you know of a place where martinis are required to study theology?

  6. February 14, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    Do people study anything in Germany without beer?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

