Home > Uncategorized > Vegitarianism

Vegitarianism

I was very surprised to learn today that Greg Boyd is a vegetarian.  He has been for four-and-a-half years.  It goes along with his commitment to complete non-violence.  My take is, if God didn’t intend for us to eat animals, then why’d He make ’em out of meat?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. February 10, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    Yeah that’s one of the things I don’t follow Boyd on. I figure if Jesus ate meat then it’s alright for me.

  2. February 10, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    I’ve never been big on the whole non-violence thing, but I’m even less impressed with vegetarianism. That’s why a while ago I made a top 10 list of reasons not to keep kosher.

  3. steph
    February 11, 2008 at 4:57 am

    If by making animals out of “meat” God meant us to eat them, he must have meant us to eat humans, also made out of meat. Thank
    God I am vegetarian. Have been since I was 12 and am still for a variety of reasons: non violence, health and taste (to name the main ones).

  4. February 11, 2008 at 8:36 am

    I didn’t know anyone read blogs who didn’t have a blog of their own.

  5. February 11, 2008 at 9:37 am

    I’d rather eat humans than go the vegetarian route. 😀

  6. February 11, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    I’m a meatatarian.

  7. February 11, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    When I hear something like this, it makes it hard for me to take any other arguements Boyd might present for non-violence all the seriously.

  8. February 11, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    Jake, you look like a meatatarian in your picture. It’s like a raptor about to chomp. 🙂

    Brian, In all fairness, Boyd is more nuanced than I’ve made him out to be here. Don’t write him off until you read his original post, which actually does make some sense. I still totally disagree though.

  9. steph
    February 11, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    It doesn’t bother me if you eat each other):^ Although most of my friends only eat beef and lamb with some bacon.

  10. February 12, 2008 at 12:11 am

    Trust me, if you put bacon on a human they’d taste great! Bacon makes everything better! 🙂

    But in all seriousness, as someone who worked in kitchens for years, when you smell the flesh of animals cooking it generally smells wonderful, but when you smell the flesh of a human cooking, it’s one of the most horrific smells there is. That alone is enough to tell us that if we were to ever eat a human then we would have to first wrap them in bacon! 😛

  11. February 12, 2008 at 12:16 am

    :-))

    A good point, of course. Piercing logic.

    My rule: If it moves, eat it.

  12. February 12, 2008 at 11:06 am

    Nick, exactly how many times have you smelled human flesh cooking? Should we be worried?

  13. February 12, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    More times than I can count.

    Anyone who’s ever worked in a restaurant can attest to how easily and often cooks are burned. I have scars all over my arms from being burned. One time my boss bumped into me behind the line and knocked me into the salamander grill which left a significant chunk of my right forearm stuck to it. The pain was severe but the smell was even worse.

    Had my arm been wrapped in bacon then it would have been delightful.

  14. February 12, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    I’ll have to tell you R.T., I read his post and his reasoning still escapes me. It falls into a similar problem with some forms of Jainism. Does Boyd brush his teeth? Does he use soap? How low down the ladder is he willing to go?

    I am sure that there are some great reasons for vegitarianism that make sense. Maybe the way animals are slaughtered in mass here in the States, or the whole ‘your body is a temple’ line of reasoning. But anti-violence?

  1. February 11, 2008 at 3:02 pm

Leave a Reply

