Home > Uncategorized > Bible Meme

Bible Meme

I got tagged by Jessie with the Bible Meme.  Here are the questions I have to answer:

1. What translation of the Bible do you like best?

New American Standard is what I generally use.  The Lockmann version has a good mini concordance in the back and good side column cross references.  I also really like the New Revised Standard and the New Jerusalem Bible.

2. Old or New Testament?

New Testament.  Duh.

3. Favorite Book of the Bible?

Philippians has always been a favorite.  Romans is the most interesting and challenging.  But my favorite book has got to be one of the gospels.  I’m going to have to pick Luke, the historian and theologian.

4. Favorite Chapter?

Over the years I have liked 1 Cor 13, Philippians 3, and Mark 7.  Right now?  I don’t know.  I’m going to say Psalm 139 but that’s really just off the top of my head.

5. Favorite Verse? (feel free to explain yourself if you have to)

Right now?  Probably Mark 12.30: “Love the Lord your god with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.”  But that’s just because I’d doing Scot McKnight’s Jesus creed challenge until easter.

6. Bible character you think you’re most like?

Personality surveys always say I am like Barnabus, the son of encouragement.

7. One thing from the Bible that confuses you?

Paul’s allegorical interpretation of the Sarah/Hagar cycle as New and Old Covenants (Gal 4.21ff).

8. Moses or Paul?

Paul.  Duh.

9. A teaching from the Bible that you struggle with or don’t get?

Did biblical authors intend to use apocalyptic imagery to refer literally to “the end of time” or were they refering to events in their own times using end-times imagery?  Or is the answer somewhere inbetween (or another option I have not discovered yet)?

10. Coolest name in the Bible?

Maher-Shalal-Hash-Baz (Isaiah 8.3)

Now Tag five people:

I tag Nick, Bryan, Brian, Yvette, and Tim.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. February 16, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    I posted my response.

  1. February 14, 2008 at 8:43 pm

Leave a Reply

