Home > Events > Take a Trip to Madison

Take a Trip to Madison

Marcus Borg, the legendary Jesus scholar, will be speaking in Madison, WI on Saturday, April 26.  He is giving the annual Lyons lecture, honoring the late Pastor David Lyons of Madison’s First United Methodist Church (the church where the lecture is given each year).  I went back in 2004 when the speaker was John Dominic Crossan.  In 2005 the speaker was Elaine Pagels, and I’m not sure who they had for the past two years.  I seem to remember the Dom Crossan lecture being free, but maybe I’m mistaken.  Anyway, the cost of this lecture is fifty bucks, but that includes a lunch.

I’m not sure how thrilled I am about dropping that kind of money to see Borg (especially when I could buy two of his books for the same amount).  Plus I felt a bit lonely when I went last time since I didn’t know anyone else there.  But there someone else wants to go then I will probably go.  Any takers?

Categories: Events
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

