Home > Books > Show and Tell

Show and Tell

About a month ago Nick Norelli was trying to get everyone to post pictures of the books they’ve been reading.  My problem is that I have my books everywhere, so no place in particular is very indicative of my current reading list.  But last night I organized my office (i.e. a desk and some bookshelves in the corner of our unfinished basement).  The stack at the front of my desk is as telling as anything.  Plus it’s always fun to look at books.

ryans-desk.jpg

(click to enlarge)

From Left to Right: Everet Fergusen, Church History volume 1; Brown, Unexpected News: Reading the Bible Through Third World Eyes ; N.T. Wright, The Gospel and Our Culture (Nashotah House Studies No. 1); Porter and McDonald, New Testament Introduction(a great New Testament bibliography); Grenz and Olson, Who Needs Theology; Chadwick, The Early Church;NA27; An IVP Hymnbook; N.T. Wright, The New Testament and the People of God; Kevin Vanhoozer, The Drama of Doctrine; J.N.D. Kelly, Early Christian Doctrines; Bettenson and Maunder, eds., Documents of the Christian Church; N.T. Wright, What St. Paul Really Said; Wiles and Santer, eds., Documents in Early Christian Thought; John Frame, Worship in Spirit and Truth; Lightfoot/Harmer/Holmes, the Apostolic Fathers (English edition); The Greek New Testament (UBS4); LXX; New American Standard Bible (1995 Update); Alister McGrath, ed., the Christian Theology Reader; David Bentley Hart, The Beauty of the Infinite; Barnstone, ed., The Other Bible; Hess, Spiritual Disciplines Devotional; Eusebius, the History of the Church(Penguin Translation); Allert, A High View of Scripture?; Lutheran Book of Worship (The old green book); Pratico and Van Pelt, Basics of Biblical Hebrew, 1st edition; Norman Paulu, On Matters Musical: A Concise Guide for the Listener of Music in Performance

Categories: Books
  1. March 4, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    We have a few books in common but I’m jealous of the 2 vol. Old Testament Pseudepigrapha I see on the shelf.

  2. March 4, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    I thought that might get a comment. I didn’t think it would turn out in the picture, but it did. I have the pleasure of looking out over my books to see… more books. Ahhhhh. If I ever need to be refreshed, I just go sit in my office for a few minutes and look at book titles and I start to feel better.

  3. March 6, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    Its a good picture.

    I took the time to set out specifically the books I was reading.

  4. March 6, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    Yeah, I only took the pic on a whim. Many of them actually are what I’m reading though.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

