Home > Blogs > Ten Reasons I’m Amazed Anyone Reads My Blog

Ten Reasons I’m Amazed Anyone Reads My Blog

Lots of lists are making the rounds today.  Michael Spenser, David Ker, and Nick Norelli each give ten (or less) reasons why they don’t read your blog.   Jim West responds to David Ker with Nine Reasons You Should Read His Blog.  Bryan contributed zero reasons, but he likes what Michael Spenser has to say.  (It seemed like there were others, but if there were, I can’t remember who they were.)  It seemed seemed good to me and to the Holy Spirit to contribute my own list.  I decided to go the route of self-deprecation.

Ten Reasons I’m Amazed Anyone Reads My Blog

1. People are easily distracted. 

2. My theological ponderings are not sophisticated enough for the Ph.D.s but are over the heads of most of my friends.

3. I blog ugly because WordPress formatting confounds me.  Font sizes change on me; pictures are out of proportion; I don’t know how to change spacing between lines.  Take this post as case-in-point.  There should be space between my first paragraph and the title of this list, but no matter how many times I hit the enter button, WordPress decides to delete all spaces.

4. My blog title is stupid.  At least Jake thinks so (see the mouse-over for Communal Feast on his blogroll).  But it’s not as stupid as my last three blog titles: The Hungry Scholar, Sandwiches There, and Ask Yourself Questions.

5. My banner is still left over from my last stupid blog title.

6. I don’t engage in gimmicks to get more traffic.  (At least not many.)  It’s not that I’m above it.  I just don’t care enough to think that hard about what “bait” to use to get people here.

7. I’m too flighty.  Some weeks I get bored of blogging and don’t post much.

8. I rarely post on inane topics like hatred for cats or consumeristic devotion to an arbitrary brand of soft drink.  (Ooo.  Them’s fightin’ words.  :P)

9. I have too many questions that border on heresy for conservatives, but I refuse to jump into the liberal boat because I’m convinced it’s got a leak in it.

10. I’m not that interesting.  At least not to me, but that’s probably because I’ve spent my whole life with me.  The fact that any of you kind readers would find me interesting, well it blesses the socks off me.  Thank you.

Categories: Blogs
  1. Lingamish
    March 9, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    Funny.

    HTML doesn’t let you just add extra space by hitting Enter.

    Try: &nbsp, and and

    And I don’t think you blog ugly. You are ugly but that’s a different issue. (That was a joke)

  2. March 15, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    More should be so humble 😉 I feel just as amazed that anyone would read my blog.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

