Home > Books > Summer Reading List

Summer Reading List

A few weeks ago I picked out twelve books I am going to try to devour over the summer.  Some of them are re-reads, some are books that have been sitting on my shelf that I have wanted to read.  I made a decision that I wasn’t going to buy any more books for the summer reading list; they all had to be books I already own.  I only broke that rule for one book.  This is not to say that I will only read these twelve books over the summer, but that my goal is to get through at least these twelve.  Some of them have alluded me for the past couple years, so the goal is that the list will get me to finally complete them.  The idea of publishing them on the blog is that I will now be accountable to actually get through them.  Here they are, in no particular order:

1. Encountering Religious Pluralism: The Challenge to Christian Faith & Mission, Harold Netland (IVP, 2001) – A re-read from a few years ago.  There was a lot of history here dealing with religious pluralism and Christianity’s encounters with other religions.

2. The Gagging of God, D.A. Carson (Zondervan, 1996) – I picked this up free a few years ago, I don’t remember where.  Carson is a prof at Trinity, though I haven’t had any of his classes yet.  I have made it through just under half of this 568 page book so far.  It’s too bad Carson doesn’t have any strong opinions about anything.  😉

3. Worship in Spirit and Truth: A Refreshing study of the principles and practice of biblical worship, John Frame (P&R Publishing, 1996) – From what I’ve seen so far, this book seems to be the best theology of worship.

4. Redemptive History and the New Testametn Scriptures, Herman Ridderbos (P&R Publishing, 1963/1988)- A partial re-read.  One of several books I on the list dealing with the doctrine of scripture.

5. Special Revelation and the Word of God, Bernard Ramm (Eerdmans, 1961) – Kevin Vanhoozer recommended this book as one of the best on the doctrine of scripture, but it’s out of print.  So I found a used copy online a few years ago, tried to read it, got bogged down in the thick language, and let it go.  Now I hope to actually finish it.

6. A High View of Scripture?: The Authority of the Bible and the Formation of the New Testament Canon, Craig Allert (Baker Academic, 2007) – I borrowed this from the library, read most of it, and then decided I really ought to buy it.  That would have been a good idea if I would have finished it.  Allert’s argument is that the canon of scripture was determined by the Rule of Faith rather than the Rule of Faith being determined by the Canon.  It is an interesting argument that I want to sort through.

7. The Revelation of God, Peter Jensen (IVP, 2002) – Another book about scripture and revelation; a re-read.  This book changed my life, but I have a hard time articulating the main argument in my own words.  I want to thoroughly digest this book, at least the first few chapters.  I start disagreeing when he moves into his argument against modern-day prophecy.

8. Developing Your Prophetic Gifting, Graham Cooke (Gospel Light, 1994) – A re-read from several years ago.  I want to integrate a charismatic view of prophecy with the other books on revelation.

9. Meekness and Majesty: A Comparative Study of Contrast and Harmon in the Concept of God, John B. Carman (Eerdmans, 1994) – A comparative religion study of Christianity and Hinduism (and others to a lesser extent) in relation to one another.  I am used to thinking about the problem of pluralism in the abstract; I hope this book will give me some specifics.

10. Mystic Union: An Essay in the Phenomenology of Mysticism, Nelson Pike (Cornell University, 1992) – A book recommendation from prof Keith Yandell in the “Religious Epistemology” class.

11. Paul: An Outline of His Theology, Herman Ridderbos (Eerdmans, 1975) – The best book on Paul’s theology that I have been feeling guilty about not having read.

12. The Drama of Doctrine: A Canonical Linguistic Approach to Christian Theology, Kevin Vanhoozer (Westminster John Knox, 2005) – I love everything I’ve read so far, but it is so thick that I have never finished it.  There are a lot of places where you have to stop and ponder for a bit before going on.  The goal is to be done with the pondering by the end of summer.

Categories: Books
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

