Home > Uncategorized > August Happenings

August Happenings

Hey folks.  I want to make sure I at least get one post up for August.  Here are a few things that are going on in my life or around the internet:

1. I am looking for a sales job.  Diana finished her job a couple days ago.  Ideally we would have waited until I had a job locked in, but we wanted her to be done in time to start homeschooling this year.  I have a few good leads and ought to be employed within a couple of weeks.  In the meantime, Diana got all her vacation paid out, so we’re okay for a little while.  Once I get the rest of my life figured out, I hope to find time in my schedule to start blogging again on a regular basis.

2. I am about to finish up my sermon series on the book of Revelation (available for free mp3 download).  I have been very happy with it.  I had a lot of fun preaching “the number of the beast” last week, but unfortunately it didn’t record properly.  I am going to try to re-record it since nearly everyone who has been following these messages was gone that night.  Among the candidates for the identity of the Antichrist: David Hasselhoff.  I’m pretty sure he’s the most likely choice.  (Of course the word “Antichrist” doesn’t appear anywhere in the book of Revelation, and the entire book seems to reference first century Roman events, but that never stopped Hal Lindsey from making silly guesses, so why can’t I?)

3. Looks like Jake is back up and running again at the Blah Blah, pointing you to cool and obscure Christian indie and alternative rock.  This week features an entire 15-song mix (which I helped to compile) that is inspired by the book of Revelation.  Remember your old days of getting a mixed tape from your friends at school?  Well this is kind of like that.  There are a lot of really cool songs on it, but you can only download it for another few days before the links will expire.

4. If you happen to be in Wisconsin, we have a ton of great stuff going on at Cornerstone Church in Oconomowoc.  We just finished turning our sanctuary into a very cool coffee shop.  I thought it was cool to see espresso drinks offered in church the very first time I saw it at Willow Creek.  But something seems weird about paying for coffee at church because it isn’t much different than just having a Starbucks move in.  That’s why I am so excited that every coffee drink is absolutely free.  Of course donations are accepted, but that’s not the point.  When we say it’s free, it really means free, and we won’t give you a nasty look if you don’t offer x amount of dollars as a “suggested donation.”  We’re just trying to make a great place to hang out with friends and talk about God.  You know, just your basic Christianity.

5. At Planet Preterist, John Evans will be posting a paper on the significance of an early dating for the book of Daniel for Christian theology.  In it he references my post from last year titled “N.T. Wright wrecked my life.”  It’s got me wanting to dig into Daniel at some point.  But I think I need a little break from apocalyptic writings for a little while.  I think I might dive back into Paul’s letters for the next month or two, since I feel a lot more at home there.  I really want to finish Ridderbos’ book on Paul’s theology, which I have barely touched so far.  And extra special thanks to Dr. Evans for sending me a copy of his commentary on the book of Daniel.  I just got it in the mail today and I am looking forward to checking it out!

6. Which reminds me, I did a terrible job on my summer reading list.  I only finished two out of twelve, with most of the others remaining half read.  The problem is not that I stopped reading, but that the list was almost entirely of books I was putting off reading.  So it ended up feeling more like a list of guilt than of excitement.  And of course that sucks.  On the other hand, I read all sorts of other books, like an introduction to Modal Logic, the classic How to Read a Book, and lots of other odds and ends.  I also reread a large part of NT Wright’s The New Testament and the People of God, which is one of those books that feels like I still have a lot to learn from it.  I think it’s probably number on on my proverbial desert island reading list.  Anyway, I think I’m just too flighty to stick to a self imposed list of books.  And now we’re into the fall and classes are starting up again, so it’s time to put my reading list to rest.  Maybe I’ll try to knock one more off the list tomorrow or Monday if I have time.  But after that, summer is officially over.

7. I am hopefully taking two classes this semester: Church History (from the founding of the church right up to modern times); and Educational Ministries in the Church.  But that is all contingent on how quickly I can get a job.  If I get a job quickly, we will have money left for these classes.  If not, well, I’d rather not think about that.  I really don’t want to lose out on an entire semester of classes.

8. If you would be so kind, take a second to leave a quick comment if you have kept me in your reader through my blogging delinquency days.  I am curious to know who has stuck with me through it.  If you have, you rock.   Yes, I mean you.  You’re awesome and I want you to know it.  It will be helpful to know who might still be following me when I get rolling again.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. August 30, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    I, for one, am still around, and hope you can find the time to blog soon.

  2. September 26, 2008 at 10:59 am

    Thanks Tim. I, for one, have not ended up being around. It’s only taken me a month to respond to this comment. I’ll see how October goes.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

