Home > Personality, Theological "Others" > Who’s Challenging You?

Who’s Challenging You?

I like reading blogs of people I disagree with.  I think it’s good to be challenged.  I was thinking I was going to say that I’d rather read someone I disagree with than someone I agree with.  But that’s not really true.  I like people who agree with me.  I like people who disagree with me.  I just like people.

I don’t think everyone’s like that.  It’s like taste in music.  I like Indie music.  I like mainstream music.  But it seems like all the Indie people turn their noses up at the mainstream.  The mainstream people think the Indie people are freaks.  I don’t know.  I kinda like everybody.

I like preachers that get ripped on most of the other blogs I read.  I like Kenneth Copeland.  I disagree with probably a quarter of what I hear him preaching, but I really like the other 3/4.  I like Brother Jed, who travels from campus to campus in the US preaching a confrontational message of repentance open-air to college students.  I like Winkie Pratney, even though he preaches from the King James Bible, which I totally don’t get.  I like N.T. Wright, even though sometimes I have a hard time relating to his Anglican background.  I like Greg Boyd, though not as much as I used to, since I used to try to imitate his preaching style and have now decided I don’t really like it.  I like John Piper, who knows how to issue a call to radical submission to God.  I like Bill Hybels, who has a passion to bring people into the Kingdom of God.  I like Dom Crossan, since he’s challenging and fun to listen to, though I disagree with 90% of what he has to say about anything that matters.

Maybe it’s just my personality, that I like everyone.  But bloggers get so crabby sometimes.  I only hear about who you don’t like.  Lighten up.  Don’t you like people?  Maybe it’s the fact that blogging lends itself to ripping on people.  Or maybe you’re just cranky.  Chill out, smile, enjoy people.  You just might find you like them despite your disagreements.

  1. October 23, 2008 at 11:51 am

    Hey RT,

    I have known Brother Jed for over 25 years. Now I don’t know him in the sense that we are buddies, but he is a friend of our church. I first heard him preach back in 1981. I even went with to the local universities to preach the gospel with him. Yeah I love him too, but I don’t agree with him on a few theological points, but I still like him a great deal.

    As a matter of fact he was at our church a few months ago.

  2. October 23, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    Wow, that’s great. Almost every Christian I know really dislikes him. I think he’s amazing. I went out with him a couple days in the fall when he was in Wisconsin. I don’t agree with him about everything either, but I probably agree with him on the issues that most Christians disagree with him on.

  3. October 23, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    Jed Smock, is a really smart man. He use to teach at Berkly if I remember correctly. I know that he holds a Masters degree in history. He also has a great capacity for memorization. I remember he would quote big sections of Psalms out of memory. Plus you got to love his boldness, if nothing else.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

