Home > Christian Movies > Wesley: the Movie, coming in 2009

Wesley: the Movie, coming in 2009

I am glad that there are finally some Christian movies coming out that aren’t just about the end times or a remake of a Bible story.  Luther came out a few years ago, and it’s probably one of my favorite movies.  I haven’t seen Fireproof yet, but I’ve heard it’s a good movie (for what it is).  I also haven’t seen Amazing Grace, though I probably ought to.

Now Foundry Pictures is making a movie about John Wesley.  Actually the website looks really crappy, but I have high hopes for the movie.  It has such potential to be really cool.

Oh yeah, remember the End of the Spear?  That was another movie I didn’t see.  I don’t know why I even bother to get excited about films any more.  It’s not like I ever get to see them.  This post started with me being all happy, but now I’m kind of sad at how little I get out.  Does anyone know any good babysitters?

HT: DMH

Categories: Christian Movies
  1. Anon M. Moss
    November 2, 2009 at 9:54 am

    The website is crappy and so is the film. It premiers in 2 weeks and tickets are $!4!!! A huge waste of money and time if you ask me. Good movies only cost half of that!! I would strongly recommend waiting for the DVD. Even for a Christian film, this movie is sure to disappoint. Here’s a little known fact: most of the crew were college interns from a crappy film school that no one’s ever heard of and they honestly didn’t know what they were doing. Also, the writer of the film who was also working on set was going through menopause during key production, so she was psycho acting the whole time. She was a grade A bitch and the director looked like he was about to have a stroke (poor man). CRAZY production (totally unprofessional) and poor quality.

    • November 2, 2009 at 12:05 pm

      “Anon M. Moss,” what a shame that you feel compelled to put up such a negative, personal and insulting post. Those who have actually seen the film (which you clearly have not) have had very positive reactions. I sort of wonder if you were one of the people we had to fire during production.

      I invite the rest of you to wait and hear objective comments rather than this clearly biased and disgruntled person with an axe to grind who posts anonymously.

      The premiere tickets are $14 because we are hosting in the beautiful historic 1400-seat Stevens Center, where the average event ticket is $15. The event includes a meet-and-greet with the lead actors. In regular theatres, the ticket price will be the same as other films.

      • Pam Pendergrass
        November 16, 2009 at 11:48 am

        See my statement below…and it was every bit worth the $14.00..I loved the movie and the message it portrayed…everyone should go see it with thier families. I wish we could do the premier all over again.

  2. November 2, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    RT Jones — I hope you will come out and see “Wesley” when it comes to a theatre near you. Sorry you missed “End of the Spear,” which was a marvelous film. Bill Ewing put heart and soul and personal financing into that movie, which was then boycotted by some Christians because the star Chad Allen is gay. As a result, Every Tribe has been unable to repay those who ventured investment money to make the film, and has had a hard time getting that great story out to more people. You can get the movie and the equally memorable documentary “Beyond the Gates of Splendor” on DVD from Amazon. If Christians don’t support fine movies, they won’t get made. It is a fantastic uphill challenge to find the funding to do such a film and do a good job of it.

  3. November 6, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    Thanks John! I see the studio has been posting on Twitter recently @FounderyPix. That has been interesting. I am looking forward to seeing Wesley. I named my first-born son after him, so gosh, I’m sort of obligated. 🙂

    I appreciate your response to “Anon” above. It’s always fun to see a little action here.

  4. Pam Pendergrass
    November 16, 2009 at 11:46 am

    I went to the premier on Saturday night and I really enjoyed the film..
    I loved the fact that it showed his struggles with his Christianity, as we all do. I found it endearing and warm.
    Thanks so those who believed in it and persued it’s completion…thanks for all the hard work that it took the make the film.
    I enjoyed the fact that is was made here in North Carolina and that benifited our economy here!
    I say to those out there, go see the movie, buy it on DVD, and watch it with your families.
    I wish we could do premier night all over again, the cast and great film makers were on hand and they were kind and gracious. They cared for the film and it’s character.

    • Lisa
      November 26, 2009 at 3:59 am

      Where did you see it? I can’t find it playing anywhere nearby (Charlotte-area). I really want to see it!

  5. November 17, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    Pam, I am looking forward to seeing it when I get a chance.

  6. David Armstrong
    July 23, 2010 at 8:50 am

    What are the plans for making this film available as a DVD?

    Naturally there are many people, especially Methodists, who would love to watch the film over here in J Wesley’s homeland. Yet I only discovered its existence by chance…

  7. April 19, 2012 at 10:49 am

    I recently bought this movie on DVD and thought I’d share my impressions of it. As a British Methodist, I was sceptical about this movie before even watching it; simply because American made films about British events and people aren’t always convincing or accurate.

    Having said this, I did really enjoy the film. The accents aren’t always convincing and some of the historical locations in England don’t quite look “English” at times. The screenplay and acting, however, more than make up for these things so I wouldn’t discourage others from watching it. What’s important is the message of the film and it’s one that we can all relate to at times; whether we’re Christians or not.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

