Home > Uncategorized > I Can’t Believe They Pay Me to Do This

I Can’t Believe They Pay Me to Do This

I can’t believe it because they’re not.  Every now and then I hear about someone who has the absolutely perfect job.  They’re so excited and they so love what they’re doing that they can honestly say they would do it even if they weren’t getting paid for it.  I mostly believe that’s what life should be like.  But now I am selling websites.  That’s not to say that I don’t like what I do.  I like the internet, I like technology.  It’s something I can get excited about.  But I can’t say I can’t believe they pay me to do it.  It’s still work.  And actually they don’t pay me until I make a sale.  (So if you or anyone you know is looking for a professionally done website that you can make your own updates to, let me know.)  And tonight I started delievering pizzas so that I can bring some income in.  It’s shattering my whole worldview that I should be able to do what I like and they should pay me.  I guess I’m just a Gen Xer who’s having difficulty learning that some people actually have to work for a living.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. October 24, 2008 at 8:25 am

    RT,

    “…I should be able to do what I like and they should pay me.”

    Yes, you should. I often wonder what work would be like if the fall had not occurred. If there were no “thorns and thistles.” We should all be doing what we like and getting paid.

    There is a very real sense in which you expectation should have been met. The fall was not part of God’s perfect, revealed will.

    JK

  2. October 24, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    I had the same thought myself. Amen to that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

