Home > Evangelism > A Gospel of Works?

A Gospel of Works?

This morning I was leading our grade school ministry at church.  We were going through John 5 and we came to this verse (28b-29):

The hour is coming when all who are in the graves will hear his voice and will come out — those who have done good, to the resurrection of life, and those who have done evil, to the resurrection of condemnation.

We didn’t spend much time on the verse, since we had a lot to get through and I was focusing in on other things.  But I was struck by how totally opposed this verse is to the Believe-and-Go-to-Heaven gospel.

Categories: Evangelism
  1. December 22, 2008 at 9:13 am

    But verse 24 says “I tell you the truth, whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life and will not be condemned; he has crossed over from death to life.”

    He goes on to say in verse 25 “I tell you the truth, a time is coming and has now come when the dead will hear the voice of the Son of God and those who hear will live.”

    So the question is then: What does it mean to “believe”?

    We wouldn’t want to misunderstand, lest we be judged according to our (mis)deeds.

    Tom

  2. Abi
    November 14, 2009 at 7:15 am

    Yes, there is gospel of works. The church has neglected this for centuries. Two books will be out by the end of the year on gospel of works. Visit http://www.missionalreformation.com

    Get ready for another church reformation

  3. November 15, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    I can’t say anything about the content, not having read them. But I don’t like the vibe of the webpage. It’s the same feeling I get reading a Jehovah’s Witness pamphlet or Mormon material. Plus anyone saying to get ready for another reformation creeps me out. Maybe the books are fine, but I’m starting out skeptical. Just sayin’…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

