Home > Uncategorized > Nooma Nooma

Nooma Nooma

We have a small home group that meets weekly.  Actually we haven’t gotten together since well before Christmas, but now that things are settling down we are looking to start up again.  We have been talking about what we want to do and we talked about the possibility of watching Rob Bell’s Nooma videos and then talking about them.  To be honest, I know very little about Rob Bell other than the fact that when his church was a new church plant he preached through Leviticus for over a year I think.  I find that interesting in and of itself.  Otherwise I read a few pages in one of his books on Amazon.  I wasn’t too impressed one way or the other.

Apparently Nooma is an Anglicization of the Greek Pneuma(though I would pronounce the ‘P’ sound, and I was taught to say ‘eu’ as ‘ew’, as if you’re trying to say “yellow” but it comes out “yew-ow”).  So the Nooma series is about the Spirit/spirit/wind/breath.  Okay.  But I just can’t help thinking about this video every time I say the name of the series:

Today I got a call from one of the other guys in the group.  He asked me if I’d heard the English version, which of course I hadn’t.  He said I really ought to check it out.  The video is hokey (and doubly so when you consider the fact that they have to compete with the Numa guy above).  The singer is singing about a girl, but if you think about it as a worship song, it’s actually very powerful.  A few of the words don’t quite fit.  But there’s power behind it.

Deep within us we are yearning for God, and apart from Him all our colors turn to gray.  I want my world to be vibrantly colored with His Holy Pneuma.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. steph
    January 19, 2009 at 2:54 am

    “nooma” – yes, that fits. Have you heard about his incompetency in NT Greek? I’m not sure if you’ve heard the wonderful spider’s web of blog discussions regarding his flaws…http://ancienthebrewpoetry.typepad.com/ancient_hebrew_poetry/2009/01/a-little-greek-is-a-dangerous-thing.html#comments

  2. January 19, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    Great to hear from you again!

    Bell is an interesting guy. Much of what he says I agree with.

    I have seen some helpful things in his videos. I wouldn’t end the conversation with them, but they are a great place to get the conversation started.

    I have posted on some of his specific issues on my blog under the search label which bares his name.

  3. January 20, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    steph, thanks for the link. Very interesting thread. I’m sure I’ll be frustrated watching the videos. But then I’m frustrated by a lot of preaching. Nothing new.

    J.K., sounds like I’ll end up on the same page as you on this one. I’ll check out your posts when I get a chance.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

