Home > Trippy Thoughts > Living in the Backstory

Living in the Backstory

I am hardwired to talk about spiritual things.  I can’t turn that off.  At any stage of my life, with whatever belief system I happen to hold at that particular time, I love to talk about God, religion, and spiritual stuff.  Because alcohol amplifies one’s personality, I found in High School and College that I got along best with the dopers when I was drinking – all we wanted to do was sit around and talk about trippy things.  I tend to drift naturally into the kind of bizarre thought patterns that others may have only when they are high.

Last week I had another tripped out thought.  I believe that my life right now is not really the true story of my life.  I am only experiencing this time in my life through flashbacks ten years from now.  You know how on Lost you get to know the characters on the island through flashbacks to the time before they were on the island?  (For the first three seasons anyway.)  I’m in a flashback right now.  The real story, I am convinced, doesn’t start for another ten years.  Why ten years?  I have no idea.  But that’s when the story is set, I’m convinced.  And I have no idea what the story is about.  Right now is just the backstory.  I think it is crucial backstory, but it is not the story itself.

And of course the whole concept is crazed.  And I totally don’t believe it, except I totally do, but of course not really.  And this leads me to the conclusion that I shouldn’t take myself so seriously.

Categories: Trippy Thoughts
  1. steph
    April 6, 2009 at 2:15 am

    You’ve been watching too much ‘Lost’. I’ve never watched it but I’ve flicked over it and it looks pretty trippy. 😉 Maybe you’ve just got too much time to dream. But one thing is right, we should never take ourselves too seriously. 🙂

  2. April 6, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    I wish I had too much time on my hands. Mostly I get those thoughts when I’m driving.

    I started watching Lost online last summer. I watched four seasons in four weeks. Now I am current.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

